top of page

Still Life Write Up

The theme for the week was still life. I think still life photography is good because you can choose what you take a photo of and you can arrange it anyway you would like. The new technique I learnt was using the flash in the studio. I would love to improve my skills with using my camera in the manual so I can start to use the correct settings to get the best photo I can produce. I enjoyed using the studio the most because we were able to take the photos we needed. The still life photographer David Bailey might relate to my image because he used a lot of flowers in his photos. He influenced my photo because he used a lot of flowers and skulls which show life and death, however in my photo I used flowers to show something new or alive and the camera to show something that is old but still alive. The technique I enjoyed the most was using the lights in the studio. I think the lighting in my image is good, I also think that the way the items have been placed is good as well as there isn’t much negative space. The problems I encountered while taking my photos is using the space wisely, and the reflection of the light on the watch. I learnt from the problems by moving the items into different positions and by using different angles with the camera to try and stop the flash reflecting in the watch. Next time we create a still life image I will do things differently by using different items in the photo, use more different arrangements and be more confident using the camera in the manual setting.

bottom of page