top of page

My Final Piece Ideas

For my final piece i have decided to do my second idea this is because i like this idea better to all my other ideas and this is why.

My first idea didn't go the way i wanted it to. I wanted the background of the image to look like a tunnel as depression can be known as a black hole, so I weaved black card into the background to try and create a tunnel, the problem was that it didn't look like a tunnel so it didn't look right. Next I sowed brightly coloured thread around the edges for the person in the photo to create lines of light to make it look like the person is starting to find the light at the end of the tunnel. The idea behind this idea is that depression can be known as the black hole you will struggle to get out of but with the help of mind and the people around you can start to find the light at the end of the tunnel. I really liked this idea but i didn't like the way that it looked when i created it. I can relate this to Inge Jacobsen's work because she would weave her work together, the only difference between my work and her work is that she would weave found images together and i have weaved one of my own photos and black card together. Another artist i can relate this to is Maurizio Anzeri as she would sow patterns on to her work like i have done with the light coming of the person in brightly coloured thread.

Also I didn't like my third idea, this is because it wasn't very eye catching or interesting. I liked the way it looked because I created it so it looked like the person was trapped inside of a cage and was trying to escape. I drew line vertically and horizontally across the image to create a cage, then I folded some of the corners up and scrunched up the corners on the other side of the image to make it look like the person is trying to escape. I added the words "set yourself free" to the image because the person is trying to set them self free and escape the cage they are in. I git this idea because with the help of mind and the people around you the cage you have got yourself in is a lot easier to escape because you have people around you to help and support you through the difficult time you are going through. I liked this idea because it is different to all my other ideas but I didn't like the way it looked as it was really boring and not that interesting. I can relate this photo to Rankin's destroy project because on of the photos were destroyed with metallic marker, which is what i used to draw the cage and add the writing.

My favourite idea was my second one. I liked this idea because is showed the same person before and after they got the help from mind, it shows the person being upset and then it shows the person smiling and being happy because the help and support from mind and the people around them has made them happier and has made life easier to deal with. I had two portraits and i cut the portrait of the person smiling in half and glued it onto the portrait of the person being upset. Next I sowed the portraits together as they are both the same person just going through different things in life. I highlighted the lips on both portraits in red so people could see the difference of the facial expressions on their face. I added the words "slowly coming back to me" on the image, because with the help of mind the person is becoming them self again because they don't have to deal with their problems by them self anymore. This is my favourite idea because it is bright and eye catching, it looks they way i wanted it to and it shows what the help of mind can do to change your life for the better.


bottom of page